The American Osteopathic Board of Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine (AOBNMM) is one of 18 certifying boards operating under the jurisdiction of the American Osteopathic Association (AOA), parent organization of the osteopathic profession. AOBNMM is a reconstitution of the American Osteopathic Board of Special Proficiency in Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine (AOBSPOMM) which had been established by the AOA in March 1990. Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine is the specialty within osteopathic medicine that emphasizes the incorporation of osteopathic manual diagnosis and osteopathic manipulative treatment into the evaluation and treatment of the nervous, muscular, and skeletal systems in their relationships to other systems of the body as well as the whole person.

In February 2015 the Osteopathic Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine (ONMM) Residency was approved under the single graduate medical education accreditation system in the United States. The ONMM residency program is a primary residency disciplined in the neuromusculoskeletal system, its comprehensive relationship to other organ systems, and its dynamic function of locomotion. The principle focus of the discipline is osteopathic and patient-centered; specifically, it embodies structural and functional interrelation, body unity, self-healing, and self-maintenance.

Board of Governors of the American Academy of Osteopathy (AAO) nominates candidates to serve on the AOBNMM. AOBNMM reviews applications of candidates seeking certification in C-NMM/OMM, administers written, oral and practical examinations, and recommends certification for successful examinees to the AOA’s Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists.

The AOA’s Council on Postdoctoral Training authorizes residency training in the recognized specialty of neuromusculoskeletal medicine/osteopathic manipulative medicine (NMM/OMM) and Osteopathic Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine (ONMM). Specialty training programs for NMM/OMM & ONMM consist of four types, all of which have the ability to prepare the physician to be board eligible.

  1. Two-year program in neuromusculoskeletal medicine/osteopathic manipulative medicine (NMM/OMM);
  2. One-year (PLUS-ONE) program in neuromusculoskeletal medicine/osteopathic manipulative medicine (NMM/OMM) following completion of an AOA approved residency in another discipline, and
  3. Integrated four-year program in family medicine and neuromusculoskeletal medicine/osteopathic manipulative medicine (Integrated FM /NMM)
  4. Integrated four-year program in internal medicine and neuromusculoskeletal medicine/osteopathic manipulative medicine (Integrated IM /NMM)

Physicians with a time-dated certification are to re-certify every ten years in order to maintain board certification.

PLEASE NOTE:  Candidates are permitted to sit for the exam up to two years before the expiration of their current certification (years 8-10 of their current certification).  If they choose to do so, the new certification period won’t begin until the existing one expires, and the new certification will be valid for 10 years from when it begins.